Colonial Stone

at the Völkerschlachtdenkmal

Standing on the parking lot in front of the Völkerschlachtdenkmal, it is worth having a look near the bushes on the right hand. Somewhat overgrown, there stands a rather inconspicuous findling. When looking closer to the rock, it is possible to distinguish an erased inscription. Through having a look in the 1933 edition of the »Kolonialpost« clues can be found concerning the origin of the stone. On a photograph taken on the 4th of december 1932 former colonial troops and soldiers of the »Schutztruppen« are pictured, standing around the stone with its inscripton »Deutsche, Gedenkt Eurer Kolonien« (Germans, remember your colonies).(1)

Aus der »Kolonialpost« 1933

Colonial revisionist memorial: on the stone, the »lost« colonies of the German Empire are remembered.

Already in 1909 a large »Landes-Kolonial-Kriegerdenkmal« (State Colonial Warrior Memorial) was planned where the stone can be found today to commemorate the soldiers fallen in the different colonialwars, or this was at least the intention of the Königlich-Sächsische Militärverein China- und Afrikakrieger (the Royal-Saxon Military Association of China and Africa warriors).(2) Due to internal discussions the preparations were postponed and only in 1914 the Leipzig sculptor Georg Huth was commissioned to design the eight and a half meter tall monument.(3) Due to the outbreak of the First World War the funds were however needed elsewhere and the memorial never made it past the design phase. After the war, the German empire did not have any colonies left and the monument eventually installed, the findling, accrued another meaning. Now the lost colonies were remembered, instead of the deceased soldiers. The stone thus became an expression of the propagandistic pursuits of the colonial revisionist ideology, a political force playing an important role in the German Empire between the wars.

Furthermore, the silent effacing of the inscription can be seen as exemplary for the approach of the GDR towards colonial history and its remains. In contrast to the Federal Republic of Germany, the colonial monuments and street names not simply remained to existed, uncommented, in the space of the city, but were instead discarded or effaced in silence. This however did not go together with any public discussion about this particular memorial or the colonial past in general. In how far this particular politics of history is more beneficial to a critical engagement with German colonial history than what could be called the drawing of a veil of silence, as it took place in the West German public debate after the Second World War, remains disputable.

  • (1) Vgl. Kolonialpost, 1933, S.18.
  • (2) Vgl. Leipziger Zeitung, 28.4.1914.
  • (3) Vgl. Joachim Zeller: »A Colonial Monument?« In Adam Jones (Hg.): Africa in Leipzig. A City Looks at a Continent 1730 – 1950. Institut für Afrikanistik: Leipzig 2000, S. 11.
Images on this page:

left: Archiv der Leipziger Volkszeitung | right: Jochen Lingelbach

Der Kolonialstein heute

During the GDR the inscription on the stone was erased, though neither there was a broad public debate about the colonial past.

Kolonialstein

am Völkerschlachtdenkmal

Auf dem Parkplatz vor dem Völkerschlachtdenkmal stehend, lohnt sich ein Blick in die Grünanlage rechter Hand. Ein wenig zugewachsen steht dort ein eher unscheinbarer Findling. Sieht man sich den Stein genauer an, lassen sich Spuren einer entfernten Inschrift erahnen. Bei einem Blick in eine Ausgabe der »Kolonialpost« von 1933 kann man der Herkunft des Steins auf die Schliche kommen. Auf einem am 4. Dezember 1932 aufgenommenen Bild sind dort ehemalige Kolonialkrieger und »Schutztruppensoldaten« abgebildet, die sich um den Stein mit seiner damaligen Inschrift »Deutsche, Gedenkt Eurer Kolonien« gruppieren.(1)

Aus der »Kolonialpost« 1933

Kolonialrevisionistisches Denkmal: Auf dem Stein wird der »verlorenen« Kolonien des Deutschen Reiches gedacht.

Ursprünglich sollte statt des Steins schon 1909 ein großes »Landes-Kolonial-Kriegerdenkmal« für die in den verschiedenen Kolonialkriegen gefallenen Soldaten errichtet werden. Dies plante zumindest der Königlich-Sächsische Militärverein China- und Afrika­krieger.(2) Aufgrund interner Unstimmigkeiten zogen sich die Vorbereitungen lange hin und erst 1914 bekam der Leipziger Bildhauer Georg Huth den Auftrag, das achteinhalb Meter hohe Denkmal zu errichten.(3) Da jedoch der Erste Weltkrieg ausbrach, wurden die Gelder anderweitig benötigt und so blieb es lediglich bei dem Entwurf. Das Deutsche Reich besaß nach dem Krieg keine Kolonien mehr und so bekam das schließlich errichtete Denkmal, der Kolonialstein, eine andere Bedeutung. Statt der umgekommenen Soldaten wurde nun der verlorenen Kolonien gedacht. Der Stein war somit Ausdruck der propagandistischen Bestrebungen des Kolonialrevisionismus, einer politischen Strömung, die zwischen den Weltkriegen eine wichtige Rolle im Deutschen Reich spielte.

Die stille Tilgung der Inschrift steht wiederum exemplarisch für den Umgang der DDR mit der kolonialen Geschichte und deren Hinterlassenschaften. Anders als in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland blieben die kolonialen Denkmäler und Straßennamen nicht einfach unkommentiert im Stadtbild erhalten, sondern wurden entfernt. Allerdings fand auch keine breite öffentliche Diskussion über die Denkmäler oder die koloniale Vergangenheit statt. Inwieweit diese Geschichtspolitik einer kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit dem deutschen Kolonialismus dienlicher ist, als das einfache Totschweigen in der westdeutschen Nachkriegsöffentlichkeit, lässt sich diskutieren.

  • (1) Vgl. Kolonialpost, 1933, S.18.
  • (2) Vgl. Leipziger Zeitung, 28.4.1914.
  • (3) Vgl. Joachim Zeller: »A Colonial Monument?« In Adam Jones (Hg.): Africa in Leipzig. A City Looks at a Continent 1730 – 1950. Institut für Afrikanistik: Leipzig 2000, S. 11.
Abbildungen dieser Seite:

links: Archiv der Leipziger Volkszeitung | rechts: Jochen Lingelbach

Der Kolonialstein heute

In der DDR wurde die Inschrift des Steins getilgt. Allerdings fand dennoch keine breite gesellschaftliche Debatte über die koloniale Vergangenheit statt.