The Leipzig mission in the Kilimanjaro area – On foreign vineyards

For over a 175 years there has been an Evangelical-Lutheran mission in Leipzig. The Leipzig missionaries have been witnesses to the founding of the empire by Bismarck, the First and Second World War and a few things more. As the Leipzig missionary society was active in the Kilimanjaro area in present-day Tanzania exactly at the time when the country had just become a colony and was called German East Africa, the question concerning their conduct during the period of German colonialism is an interesting one.

Until today missionaries from Leipzig work in the area, officially however under another banner: the in the meanwhile independent evangelical churches in Tanzania are partner churches of the East German regional churches. Today the deployment of missionaries takes place, as stated by the Leipzig mission, in response to a request by a partner churche. »The Leipzig mission is in permanent exchange with its overseas partners as to estimate at which location help is needed« it is formulated on the website of the Leipzig mission. The partner churches are in need of, or so it is written, »multiplicator who […] contribute so as to inspire faith, pass on knowledge and give new hope.«(1) The relation between mission and colonialism is also mentioned, if shortly, on the website: »has the mission colonised the souls and taught the inhabitants in colonies to obey their new rulers?« goes the supposedly self-critical question which is answered by a vague referrence to »ample not so pretty things« to then quickly pass on to the affirmation of the Leipzig missions fundamental »colonial critical« position.(2) Although herein, there can be recognised an effort to deal with the own history yet so far these attempts cannot be seen as critical.(3) The following text aims to complement this lacuna.

To German East Africa

Besides the catholic missions orders, four Protestant missionary societies were active in the colony of German East Africa: aside from the Leipzig Missionary Society (LMG), they were the Herrnhuter Moravian Church, the Berlin Missionary Society (BMG) and the Evangelical Mission for German East-Africa (EMDOA).(4) From 1893 on the Leipzig mission was active in the Kilimanjaro area, which they had taken over from the British Church Missionary Society (CMS). The young German colonial state did no longer tolerate any foreign missions, out of a fear of »behaviour inimical towards the empire«.(5) Whereas missionary societies as the EMDOA were very eager to become active in the colonies in order to conquer the new territories hand in hand with the colonial administration, the Leipzig and other older missions were sceptical towards such colonial zealousness. For them, the Christian mission was more of an international nature, it had for them less to do with the expansion of »German kind« Christianity and they warned for an instrumentalisation by the colonial administration.(6)

Gradually however even the older missionary societies got involved in the colonies, in light of the increased security situation for mission members and the promise of prestige and standing with the colonialism-crazed wider population in their homelands(7). In Leipzig, a change of leadership also made for the decision in favour of the colonial missions, as Carl von Schwartz took over the position of mission director in 1891. His predecessor Julia Hardeland had so far blocked the activities in the colonies.(8) Nevertheless the LMG complied to the wishes of the imperial government for exclusive German missions by taking over the Kilimanjaro-area, the mission did underline explicitly the independent character of its operation in German East Africa:

»It needs […] scarcely to be said, that our mission, by the initiation of a new mission area, does by no means put itself at the service of the colonial movement in Germany and would, mingling the spiritual with the worldly, serve the German empire instead of the kingdom of God, or both at the same time […].«(9)

The activities of the Leipzig mission on the ground

The first Leipzig missionaries, an all-male five-member group(10), founded in October 1893 the first missionary station named Machime – yet only after an initial discussion with the colonial administration, who wanted to discourage the missionaries from settling in the turbulent area around Moshi, relegating them to the coastal area. Leipzig however threatened to refrain from any engagement in a German colony whatsoever if the LMG was not allowed to work in the desired Kilimanjaro area.(11) Giving in to the demands the colonial administration directed them towards an area near Moshi which was already under their control and donated the land.(12) The responsible district chief furthermore facilitated a friendly reception of the missionaries by the Shangali, the local ruler of this area.(13) Without this support from the colonial administration, gaining a foothold would have been much more difficult for the Leipzig mission.

Nevertheless the first phase of missionary work could not be seen as an unanimous cooperation between the missionaries and the colonial administration, as the continuing resistance of the local population against the colonial regime, and the merciless suppression by the German military, put the missionaries in a dilemma: on the one side they had to rely on military protection of the colonial troops, on the other hand they did not always agree with radicality and brutality of their reactions.(14) Eventually they publicly complained about the wrongdoings and the hard approach of the military station chief Merker, yet their complaints did not have much effect – not in the least because the Leipzig mission director von Schwartz, loyal to the government, purposefully diluted their claims.(15) But the colonial administration’s disempowerment of the local rulers was in favour of the mission, whether they wanted it or not. As the influence of the local political and religious structures continued to diminish with increasing colonial pervasion and reach, the missionaries, who often mediated between the population and the colonial institutions, came to be regarded as a new authority, treated by the indigenous with more and more respect.(16)

During the first few years, the missionaries proceeded with care as they still lacked sufficient language skills and cultural knowledge about the Wachagga to be able to replace their beliefs about faith and society by Christian ones. Initially, they limited themselves to the construction of the station and the medical care. Alongside, they founded more missionary stations in the surroundings.(17) Only slowly did the missionary school system come about which would later form the backbone of the Leipzig missionary work in the Kilimanjaro area.(18) After the last resistance fighters of the Wachagga were defeated by the colonial troops in 1899 and the missionaries had branded themselves as mediators with the population, more and more people let themselves be baptised.

The peace between mission and colonial state was troubled anew by the increased influx of White settlers in the mission area of the LMG from 1904. Source of the disruption was the fact that the German settlers and companies exploited plantations and therefore needed a labour force, which they recruited from the indigenous population. Partially this happened through wage labour, partially through colonial administration instructed forced labour.(19) It was not the economical exploitation of the colonies or the forced labour as such which caused the anger of the missionaries, their main issue was that the state hat delegated the control over the labour force to the settlers, who were known to oppose the work of the mission and also confronted the mission members whenever they could.

Apart from that, the plantation owners also employed children who helped their parents to earn the money for the colonial taxations (Hüttensteuer). The poor working conditions on the plantations did provoke protest of the missionaries yet also here, it was not just about altruism: the working children could not attend school, which negatively affected the success of the mission.(20) The missionaries sought to have instated a compulsory education of three days a week by the government but to no avail. As well in this case the Leipzig college – the mission director – had mitigated the accusations from those in the field – probably as well to avoid a potential public counter-criticism by the settlers regarding the plantations of the mission. There both children and adults worked in similar poor conditions, however under the disguise of a »work education« and as a compensation for the educative and humanitarian deeds of the mission.(21)

The size of the plantation activities of the Leipzig mission is hard to determine precisely. The missions of both confessions in East-Africa however possessed together about a quarter of the private plantation land, thereby controling the largest share of private plantations in the colony.(22) The plantations of the Leipzig missionaries were unlike the Catholic missions not known for their size and economical importance but for the low wages that were paid: 5 to 6 rupies in contrast to the average wage in the Kilimanjaro area, which mounted to 10 to 14 roupies.(23)

Leipzig's missionary society and the German colonial movement

The Wachagga missionaries of the colonial era, notwithstanding the ambivalence described above, are today seen as comparatively critical and restrained considering the cooperation with the colonial administration.(24) Even so, the large part of the board of the LMG did position themselves extremely loyal towards the German colonial state. Worth mentioning here is the first colonial mission day, 1911 in Dresden, organised in the name of the Protestant missionary societies by Herrnhuter mission director Hennig in order to advertise for those four missions active in Africa. The LMG, which had after its initial reservation in the 1880’s, had turned into a strong advocate of the colonial mission, evidently was also present.(25) In 1913 the board even came up with the idea to hold a advertising event for the colonial mission, parallel to the inauguration of the Völkerschlachtdenkmal. It did however not happen. With German imperialism at its peak, shortly before the start of the first World War, no one was interested anymore in the Christian opinion on colonialism. German colonial rule had been in the meantime so extensively established that the missions slowly lost their key role for the colonial expansion.(26) That they were nevertheless seen as an integral part of the colonial rule is attested by the Kaiserspende (Emperor’s donation). On the occasion of the 25th jubilee of the rule of Emperor Wilhelm II, the German population was expected to show a financial commitment to the engagement of the empire in the colonies. The concrete recipient would be the German missionary associations, whose »cultural mission« in the service of the empire the government wanted to honour. The LMG also received a part of the almost five million mark which were accrued until November 1913.(27)

Colonial mission history?

Reflecting on the work of the Leipzig mission during the colonial era, it must be acknowledged that the missionaries on the ground in many cases stood in for the indigenous population, trying to protect them for ruthless settlers and them becoming completely dependent on wage labor.(28) On the other hand they profited clearly from the repression of the Wachagga by the German colonial state. They did criticise the hard policies, yet did not question the submission of the indigenous people as such.(29) The plantations of the LMG can in this respect be seen as one of the darkest chapters in its history. And that the chiefs in Leipzig were not averse to chauvinist ideas is clearly demonstrated by director von Schwartz, who talks about »the divine law, after which the vine dresser who does not reap the fruit of the vineyard, loses the right to tend it« and »we have to be clear, that the acquisition of colonies is in no manner whatsoever afflicted with a moral flaw.«(30) Horst Gründers concluding judgement about the Christian mission during the colonial era can also be said to apply to the Leipzig mission: »the Christian mission has not only been a beneficiary of the European colonial expansion but simultaneously an integral and integrating part of the colonial movement itself.«(31) The mission house on the Paul-List-Strasse is thus intimately connected with the colonial history of Leipzig.

  • (1) Leipziger Missionswerk: -› Langzeitmitarbeit
  • (2) Leipziger Missionswerk: -› Kolonialismus
  • (3) An article of the former mission director Michael Hanfstängl in the year report 2007 addresses, not very critical, the position of the Leipzig missionaries during the colonial era. The year report can be found -› here (PDF in German, 1,54 MB) abrufbar. Furthermore there is since July 2008 a permanent exhibition in the Mission house named: »Mission, for the love of God!« on relevant questions concerning the missionary work yet only refers very limited to the delicate themes as cultural destruction and the relation with colonialism.
  • (4) Vgl. Thorsten Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen mitten in der Heidenwelt des dunklen Erdteils«. Zum Selbst- und Fremdverständnis protestantischer MissionarInnen im kolonialen Afrika 1884 – 1918. Waxmann Verlag: Münster 2003, S. 70.
  • (5) Vgl. Horst Gründer: Christliche Mission und deutscher Imperialismus 1884-1914. Schöningh: Paderborn 1982, S. 200-201; außerdem Heinrich Berger: Mission und Kolonialpolitik. Die katholische Mission in Kamerun während der deutschen Kolonialzeit. Neue Zeitschrift für Missionswissenschaft: Immensee 1978, S. 27 – 28.
  • (6) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 24 – 26; außerdem Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 53 – 54.
  • (7) Vgl. ebd. S. 15, 26 – 27; sowie Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 26.
  • (8) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 67.
  • (9) Evangelisch-Luth. Missionsblatt, Jg. 1982, S. 194; zitiert nach Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 41.
  • (10) First after the turn of the century female members of the mission were sent to East Africa. The first female missionary from Leipzig in East Africa was Elisabeth Seesemann. She stayed – with interruptions – from 1905 until 1914 in the North of the present-day Tanzania. Vgl. Leipziger Missionswerk: Geschichte. Missionare: -› Elisabeth Seesemann
  • (11) In the Kilimanjaro area the climate conditions were better than those in the hot coastal regions. The availability of clean drinking water also made the missioning easier. Aside, the Wachagga people living there were attributed features which the Leipzig mission considered favourable for the missionary efforts as for example them being tiller, the hierarchic political structure as well as the high intellectual capabilities. Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 317-318; außerdem Paul Fleisch: Lutheran beginnings around Mt. Kilimanjaro. The first 40 years. Erlanger Verlag für Mission und Ökumene: Erlangen 1998, S. 45.
  • (12) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 220-221; sowie Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 317.
  • (13) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 317 – 318.
  • (14) Vgl. ebd., S. 68; sowie Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 221 – 222.
  • (15) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 222.
  • (16) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 325 – 329.
  • (17) Vgl. ebd., S. 319 – 320.
  • (18) Vgl. ebd., S. 69; sowie Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 240.
  • (19) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 329; sowie Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 238 – 239.
  • (20) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 239 – 241; sowie Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 69.
  • (21) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 241 – 243.
  • (22) Vgl. ebd., S. 236.
  • (23) Vgl. ebd., S. 242 – 243; außerdem Th. Förster: »Negerkulturen und Plantagenbau am Kilimandjaro«. In DOAZ, Nr. 67 vom 25.08.1909; sowie Hans-Joachim Niesel: Kolonialverwaltung und Missionen in Deutsch Ostafrika. Dissertation: Berlin 1971, S. 228 – 229.
  • (24) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 70.
  • (25) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 105.
  • (26) Vgl. ebd., S. 105 – 106, 231 – 232.
  • (27) Vgl. ebd., S. 106 – 109.
  • (28) Vgl. ebd., S. 220 – 223, 245.
  • (29) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 68 – 70.
  • (30) Zitiert nach Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 326 – 327.
  • (31) Ebd., S. 324.

Die Leipziger Mission im Kilimanjaro-Gebiet – In fremden Weinbergen

Seit über 175 Jahren gibt es in Leipzig ein evangelisch-lutherisches Missionswerk. Leipziger MissionarInnen haben die Reichsgründung unter Bismarck, den Ersten und Zweiten Weltkrieg und so einiges mehr miterlebt. Wie sie sich in der Zeit des deutschen Kolonialismus verhalten haben, ist dabei eine interessante Frage. Denn die Leipziger Missionsgesellschaft wurde genau zu dem Zeitpunkt im Kilimanjaro-Gebiet im heutigen Tansania tätig, als das Land gerade Kolonie geworden war und Deutsch-Ostafrika hieß.

Bis heute arbeiten MissionarInnen aus Leipzig in diesem Gebiet, offiziell allerdings unter anderen Vorzeichen: Die mittlerweile selbstständigen evangelischen Kirchen in Tansania sind Partnerkirchen der ostdeutschen Landeskirchen. Die Entsendung von Leipziger MissionarInnen erfolgt heute nach Darstellung des Missionswerks auf Anfrage der Partnerkirchen: »Das Leipziger Missionswerk ist mit seinen Partnern in Übersee im ständigen Austausch darüber, an welchen Einsatzorten Mitarbeiter gebraucht werden«, heißt es dazu auf der Website des Leipziger Missionswerks. Die Partnerkirchen brauchen, so heißt es weiter, »Multiplikatoren, die […] mithelfen, damit Glauben geweckt, Wissen weitergegeben und neue Hoffnung geschenkt werden kann.«(1) Auch das Verhältnis von Mission und Kolonialismus kommt auf der Website zur Sprache: »Hat [die Mission] die Seelen kolonisiert und die Einwohner in den Kolonien gelehrt, der neuen Obrigkeit Gehorsam zu leisten?«, so die selbstkritisch anmutende Frage, die mit dem wolkigen Hinweis auf »genügend unschöne Beispiele« beantwortet wird, um dann rasch zur grundsätzlich »kolonialkritischen« Haltung der Leipziger Mission zu kommen.(2) Man bemüht sich zwar um die Aufarbeitung der eigenen Geschichte, aber als kritisch können die Versuche bisher nicht eingestuft werden.(3) Der folgende Text soll dabei nachhelfen.

Nach Deutsch-Ostafrika

In der Kolonie Deutsch-Ostafrika waren neben den katholischen Missionsorden hauptsächlich vier protestantische Missionsgesellschaften tätig: Neben der Leipziger Missionsgesellschaft (LMG) waren das die Herrnhuter Brüdergemeine, die Berliner Missionsgesellschaft (BMG) und die Evangelische Missionsgesellschaft für Deutsch-Ostafrika (EMDOA).(4) Das Missionsfeld der Leipziger Mission war ab 1893 das Kilimanjaro-Gebiet, das sie von der britischen Church Missionary Society (CMS) übernommen hatte. Der junge deutsche Kolonialstaat duldete aus Angst vor »reichsfeindlichem Verhalten« keine ausländische Missionen mehr.(5) Während Missionsgesellschaften wie die EMDOA darauf brannten, in den neuen Kolonien tätig zu werden, um dort Hand in Hand mit der Kolonialverwaltung die neuen Gebiete zu erobern, standen Leipzig und andere ältere Missionsgruppen einer solchen Kolonialmission zunächst skeptisch gegenüber. Für sie war die christliche Mission mehr eine internationale Angelegenheit. Es ging ihnen weniger um die Verbreitung eines Christentums »deutscher Prägung« und sie warnten vor einer Instrumentalisierung durch die Kolonialverwaltung.(6)

Nach und nach ließen sich aber auch die älteren Missionsgesellschaften auf den Dienst in den Kolonien ein, versprach er doch mehr Sicherheit vor Ort für die Missionsangehörigen, außerdem Prestige und Ansehen bei der kolonialbegeisterten Heimatbevölkerung.(7) In Leipzig sorgte unter anderem ein Führungswechsel für den Eintritt in die Kolonialmission: Carl von Schwartz übernahm 1891 das Amt des Missionsdirektors. Sein Vorgänger Julius Hardeland hatte bisher eine Tätigkeit in den Kolonien abgewehrt.(8) Obwohl die LMG mit der Übernahme des Kilimanjaro-Gebietes einem Wunsch der Reichsregierung nach ausschließlich deutschen Missionen nachkam, betonte sie ausdrücklich die Unabhängigkeit ihrer Tätigkeit in Deutsch-Ostafrika:

»Es braucht […] kaum ausgesprochen zu werden, dass mit der Inangriffnahme eines neuen Missionsgebietes sich unsere Mission keineswegs in den Dienst der kolonialen Bewegung in Deutschland stellen und, Geistliches und Weltliches vermengend, etwa statt dem Reiche Gottes dem deutschen Reiche oder beiden zugleich dienen wolle […].«(9)

Die Arbeit der Leipziger Mission vor Ort

Die ersten Leipziger Missionare, eine rein männliche fünfköpfige Gruppe(10), gründeten im Oktober 1893 die erste Missionsstation namens Machame – allerdings erst nach einer Auseinandersetzung mit der Kolonialverwaltung, die die Missionare von einer Niederlassung in dem noch unruhigen Gebiet um Moshi abhalten wollte und sie stattdessen auf das Küstengebiet verwies. Doch Leipzig drohte, ganz von einem Engagement in einer deutschen Kolonie abzusehen, wenn die LMG nicht im begehrten Kilimanjaro-Gebiet(11) arbeiten dürfe. So wies ihnen die Kolonialverwaltung ein bereits kontrolliertes Gebiet in der Nähe von Moshi zu und schenkte ihnen Land.(12) Außerdem sorgte der zuständige Bezirkschef für eine freundliche Aufnahme der Missionare bei Shangali, dem lokalen Herrscher dieses Gebiets.(13) Ohne diese Unterstützung durch die Kolonialverwaltung wäre es den Leipzigern schwerer gefallen, vor Ort Fuß zu fassen.

Trotzdem war die erste Phase der Missionsarbeit nicht von einmütiger Kooperation zwischen Missionaren und Kolonialverwaltung geprägt, denn der andauernde Widerstand der lokalen Bevölkerung gegen das Kolonialregime und die erbarmungslose Niederschlagung durch das deutsche Militär versetzten die Missionare in eine Zwickmühle: Einerseits waren sie auf den militärischen Schutz der Kolonialtruppen angewiesen; andererseits waren sie mit der Radikalität und Brutalität der Reaktionen nicht immer einverstanden.(14) Sie klagten schließlich öffentlich über die Missstände und über das harte Vorgehen des Militärstationschefs Merker, doch ihre Beschwerden richteten wenig aus – zumal der reichstreue Leipziger Missionsdirektor von Schwartz diese gezielt verwässerte.(15) Die Entmachtung der lokalen Herrscher durch die Kolonialverwaltung spielte den Missionaren aber – ob nun gewollt oder nicht – in die Hände. Der Einfluss der lokalen politischen und religiösen Strukturen schrumpfte mit der zunehmenden kolonialen Durchdringung, und die Missionare, die oft zwischen der Bevölkerung und den Kolonialinstitutionen vermittelten, bildeten eine neue Autorität, der die Einheimischen immer mehr Respekt entgegen brachten.(16)

Während der ersten Jahre gingen die Missionare bei ihrer Arbeit sehr behutsam vor, da ihnen noch ausreichende sprachliche und kulturelle Kenntnisse über die Wachagga fehlten, um deren Glaubens- und Gesellschaftsvorstellungen durch christliche ersetzen zu können. Sie beschränkten sich zunächst auf den Stationsausbau und die medizinische Versorgung. Außerdem gründeten sie weitere Missionsstationen im Umland.(17) Erst langsam entstand das missionarische Schulwesen, das später den Schwerpunkt der Leipziger Missionsarbeit im Kilimanjaro-Gebiet bilden sollte.(18) Nachdem 1899 die letzten WiderstandskämpferInnen der Wachagga von den Kolonialtruppen besiegt worden waren und die Missionare sich bei der Bevölkerung positiv als Vermittler hervorgetan hatten, ließen sich immer mehr Menschen taufen.

Der verstärkte Zuzug von Weißen SiedlerInnen ins Missionsgebiet der LMG ab 1904 unterbrach den eingekehrten Frieden zwischen Mission und Kolonialstaat erneut. Denn die deutschen SiedlerInnen und Unternehmen betrieben Plantagen und brauchten Arbeitskräfte, die sie aus der einheimischen Bevölkerung rekrutierten. Teilweise geschah dies über Lohnarbeit, teilweise über den von der Kolonialverwaltung verordneten Arbeitszwang.(19) Nicht die ökonomische Ausbeutung der Kolonien oder der Arbeitszwang an sich stießen auf die Kritik der MissionarInnen – es ging ihnen vor allem darum, dass der Staat die Kontrolle des Arbeitseinsatzes den SiedlerInnen übertragen hatte, die seit jeher in Opposition zur Missionsarbeit standen und durchaus auch gegen Missionsangehörige vorgingen.

Davon abgesehen beschäftigten die PlantagenbesitzerInnen auch Kinder, die ihren Eltern halfen, das Geld für die koloniale Hüttensteuer zu verdienen. Die schlechten Arbeitsbedingungen auf den Plantagen riefen den Protest der MissionarInnen hervor. Doch es ging nicht nur um reine Nächstenliebe: Die arbeitenden Kinder versäumten den Schulbesuch, was den Missionserfolg erheblich beeinträchtigte.(20) Die MissionarInnen bemühten sich, bei der Regierung einen Schulzwang für drei Tage in der Woche durchzusetzen, ohne Erfolg. Denn auch in dieser Angelegenheit hatte das Leipziger Kollegium – die Missionsleitung – die Vorwürfe vom Missionsfeld abgeschwächt – wohl auch, um eine öffentliche Gegenkritik der SiedlerInnen zu vermeiden, die sich auf das Plantagenwesen der Mission bezog. Dort arbeiteten ebenfalls Kinder und Erwachsene unter ähnlich schlechten Bedingungen, allerdings unter dem Deckmantel einer »Erziehung zur Arbeit« und als Gegenleistung für das schulische und humanitäre Angebot der Mission.(21)

Wie umfangreich das Plantagenwesen der Leipziger Mission gewesen ist, lässt sich nicht genau benennen. Die Missionen beider Konfessionen in Deutsch-Ostafrika besaßen aber zusammen etwa ein Viertel der privaten Pflanzungsflächen und verfügten damit über den größten Anteil an privaten Plantagengebieten in der Kolonie.(22) Die Plantagen der Leipziger MissionarInnen waren im Gegensatz zu den Pflanzungen der katholischen Missionen nicht berühmt für ihre Größe und wirtschaftliche Bedeutung, jedoch für die niedrigen Löhne, die dort gezahlt wurden: 5 bis 6 Rupien im Gegensatz zum Durchschnittslohn im Kilimanjaro-Gebiet, der 10 bis 14 Rupien betrug.(23)

Leipziger Missionsgesellschaft und deutsche Kolonialbewegung

Die Wachagga-MissionarInnen der Kolonialära gelten heute trotz der beschriebenen Ambivalenzen als vergleichsweise kritisch und zurückhaltend, was die Kooperation mit der Kolonialverwaltung betrifft.(24) Der Großteil des Kollegiums der LMG verhielt sich jedoch äußerst loyal gegenüber dem deutschen Kolonialstaat. Erwähnenswert ist dabei der erste Kolonial-Missionstag 1911 in Dresden, den der Herrnhuter Missionsdirektor Hennig im Namen der protestantischen Missionsgesellschaften organisierte, um für die vier in Deutsch-Ostafrika tätigen Missionen zu werben. Mit dabei war natürlich die LMG, die nach ihrer anfänglichen Zurückhaltung in den 1880er Jahren nun eifrig für die Kolonialmission warb.(25) 1913 kam das Kollegium sogar auf die Idee, parallel zur Einweihung des Völkerschlachtdenkmals eine Werbeveranstaltung für die Kolonialmission abzuhalten. Doch es kam nicht dazu. In dieser Hochphase des deutschen Imperialismus, kurz vor Beginn des Ersten Weltkriegs, interessierte niemanden mehr die christliche Meinung zum Kolonialismus. Die deutsche Kolonialherrschaft war mittlerweile so gefestigt, dass die Missionen ihre Schlüsselrolle für die koloniale Eroberung langsam verloren.(26) Dass sie aber trotzdem als Bestandteil von kolonialer Herrschaft betrachtet wurden, zeigt die Kaiserspende des Jahres 1913. Die deutsche Bevölkerung sollte anlässlich des 25-jährigen Regierungsjubiläums von Kaiser Wilhelm II. finanziellen Einsatz für das Engagement des Reichs in den Kolonien bringen. Die konkreten Empfänger sollten die deutschen Missionsgesellschaften sein, deren reichsdienliche »Kulturmission« die Regierung würdigen wollte. Auch die LMG erhielt einen Teil der fast fünf Millionen Mark, die bis November 1913 zusammenkamen.(27)

Koloniale Missionsgeschichte?

Betrachtet man die Arbeit der Leipziger MissionarInnen während der Kolonialzeit, so muss berücksichtigt werden, dass die MissionarInnen vor Ort in vielen Fällen für die indigene Bevölkerung Partei ergriffen und versuchten, sie vor den rücksichtslosen SiedlerInnen und einer gänzlichen Abhängigkeit von Lohnarbeit zu schützen.(28) Und doch profitierten sie eindeutig von der Unterwerfung der Wachagga durch den deutschen Kolonialstaat. Sie kritisierten zwar das harte Vorgehen, stellten aber nie die Unterwerfung der indigenen Bevölkerung an sich in Frage.(29) Das Plantagenwesen der LMG gehört wohl zu den dunkelsten Kapiteln in ihrer Geschichte. Und dass dem Kollegium zu Hause in Leipzig chauvinistisches Gedankengut nicht fremd war, zeigt Direktor von Schwartz ganz deutlich, der von dem »göttliche[n] Weltgesetz« sprach, »nach dem die Weingärtner, welche die Frucht des Weinbergs nicht bringen, ihr Recht auf seine Verwaltung verwirken.« Und: »Wir müssen uns darüber klar sein, dass die Erwerbung von Kolonien an sich in keiner Weise mit einem sittlichen Makel behaftet ist.«(30) Auch für die Leipziger Mission gilt Horst Gründers abschließendes Urteil über die christlichen Missionen der Kolonialära: »Die christliche Mission ist […] nicht allein ›Nutznießer‹ der europäischen Kolonialexpansion gewesen, sondern gleichzeitig integraler und integrierender Teil der Kolonialbewegung selbst.«(31) Das Missionshaus in der Paul-List-Straße ist deshalb untrennbar mit Leipzigs Kolonialvergangenheit verbunden.

  • (1) Leipziger Missionswerk: -› Langzeitmitarbeit
  • (2) Leipziger Missionswerk: -› Kolonialismus
  • (3) Ein Artikel des ehemaligen Missionsdirektors Michael Hanfstängl aus dem Jahresbericht 2007 beschäftigt sich – nicht sehr kritisch – mit der Haltung der Leipziger Missionare in der Kolonialzeit. Der Jahresbericht ist -› hier (pdf-Datei, 1,54 MB) abrufbar. Weiterhin gibt es seit Juli 2008 eine Dauerausstellung im Missionshaus namens »Mission: Um Gottes willen!« zu relevanten Fragen der Missionsarbeit, die die heiklen Themen wie Kulturzerstörung und das Verhältnis zum Kolonialismus nur kurz anschneidet.
  • (4) Vgl. Thorsten Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen mitten in der Heidenwelt des dunklen Erdteils«. Zum Selbst- und Fremdverständnis protestantischer MissionarInnen im kolonialen Afrika 1884 – 1918. Waxmann Verlag: Münster 2003, S. 70.
  • (5) Vgl. Horst Gründer: Christliche Mission und deutscher Imperialismus 1884-1914. Schöningh: Paderborn 1982, S. 200-201; außerdem Heinrich Berger: Mission und Kolonialpolitik. Die katholische Mission in Kamerun während der deutschen Kolonialzeit. Neue Zeitschrift für Missionswissenschaft: Immensee 1978, S. 27 – 28.
  • (6) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 24 – 26; außerdem Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 53 – 54.
  • (7) Vgl. ebd. S. 15, 26 – 27; sowie Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 26.
  • (8) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 67.
  • (9) Evangelisch-Luth. Missionsblatt, Jg. 1982, S. 194; zitiert nach Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 41.
  • (10) Erst nach der Jahrhundertwende wurden auch weibliche Missionsangehörige nach Ostafrika entsandt. Die erste Leipziger Missionarin in Ostafrika war Elisabeth Seesemann. Sie hielt sich – mit Unterbrechungen – von 1905 bis 1914 im Norden des heutigen Tansania auf. Vgl. Leipziger Missionswerk: Geschichte. Missionare: -› Elisabeth Seesemann
  • (11) Im Kilimanjaro-Gebiet waren die klimatischen Bedingungen günstiger als in den heißen Küstenregionen. Auch die Verfügbarkeit von sauberem Trinkwasser machte das Missionieren einfacher. Außerdem wurden den dort ansässigen Wachagga Eigenschaften nachgesagt, die die Leipziger Mission als günstig im Hinblick auf ihre Missionierungsbemühungen empfand, so z.B. ihr Ackerbauerntum, die hierarchische politische Organisationsform sowie eine hohe geistige Begabung. Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 317-318; außerdem Paul Fleisch: Lutheran beginnings around Mt. Kilimanjaro. The first 40 years. Erlanger Verlag für Mission und Ökumene: Erlangen 1998, S. 45.
  • (12) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 220-221; sowie Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 317.
  • (13) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 317 – 318.
  • (14) Vgl. ebd., S. 68; sowie Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 221 – 222.
  • (15) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 222.
  • (16) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 325 – 329.
  • (17) Vgl. ebd., S. 319 – 320.
  • (18) Vgl. ebd., S. 69; sowie Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 240.
  • (19) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 329; sowie Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 238 – 239.
  • (20) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 239 – 241; sowie Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 69.
  • (21) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 241 – 243.
  • (22) Vgl. ebd., S. 236.
  • (23) Vgl. ebd., S. 242 – 243; außerdem Th. Förster: »Negerkulturen und Plantagenbau am Kilimandjaro«. In DOAZ, Nr. 67 vom 25.08.1909; sowie Hans-Joachim Niesel: Kolonialverwaltung und Missionen in Deutsch Ostafrika. Dissertation: Berlin 1971, S. 228 – 229.
  • (24) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 70.
  • (25) Vgl. Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 105.
  • (26) Vgl. ebd., S. 105 – 106, 231 – 232.
  • (27) Vgl. ebd., S. 106 – 109.
  • (28) Vgl. ebd., S. 220 – 223, 245.
  • (29) Vgl. Altena: »Ein Häuflein Christen …«, a.a.O., S. 68 – 70.
  • (30) Zitiert nach Gründer: Mission und Imperialismus, a.a.O., S. 326 – 327.
  • (31) Ebd., S. 324.