Trade fairs for colonial and tropical technologies

Former trade fair grounds, Prager Straße 119

Kolonialmesse 1939

During National Socialist times colonial revisionist ideology was widespread, conveyed amongst others through the trade fairs for colonial and tropical technologies (here in 1939).

As a »window to the world« the Leipzig trade fair has throughout its history always reflected the political spirit of the times. Accordingly, colonial trade fairs took place on the fair grounds at the Völkerschlachtdenkmal in 1937 and 1939. Colonial revisionist thought was widespread.

On this fair the German industries and research establishment presented the newest developments in the area of tropical technologies, regardless of the fact that the German empire at this time did possess neither tropical nor any other colonies. Colonial propaganda was omnipresent on the trade fair: next to implicit propaganda there were stalls by the Reichskolonial-Bundes and the Kolonialzeitung. The head of the colonial-political department General Knight von Epp wrote 1937 in the »Völkischen Beobachter«:

»When Germany proves its colonial capacities over and over through its accomplishments in the colonial economic field, the allegation of colonial incompetence is refuted by itself. The colonial fair thus outgrows its primary aim by demonstrating not only at home and abroad the excellence of German colonial technologies but also the profound wish to apply these technologies in its own territories and for the benefit of the homeland.«(1)

Likewise, colonial and tropical technologies were shown on the regular trade fairs in autumn, which at that time were spread throughout the entire city. Amongst the articles presented there, there were things on offer for the colonisers (»tropical garments«, »tropical car repair kits«, »hunting and sporting riffles«, »tropic-resistant colouring pencils«) as well as articles for those colonised (»short trousers for [N*]«, »cheap blankets for indigenous«, »loincloths«, »plantation knives«).

The example of the Leipzig trade fair illustrates the societal signifance of German colonialism. Even beyond the time that the German empire in effect possessed colonies, colonial propaganda was actively pursued and the normality of colonial structures affirmed.

  • (1) Völkischer Beobachter, 27.02.1937.

Messebesucher

For National Socialist ideologues, the advancements in the field of tropical technology refuted the claim of the »colonial incompetence« of Germany.

 

Messebesucher

Colonial propaganda was omnipresent on the trade fairs – for example in the form of the Deutsche Kolonialzeitung (German colonial newspaper).

 

Messebesucher

The pursuit of regaining the German colonies blended in well with the National Socialist ideology of a »Volk ohne Raum« (people without a land) and was propagated on the trade fairs.

Kolonial- und Tropentechnische Messen

Altes Messegelände, Prager Straße 119

Kolonialmesse 1939

Zur NS-Zeit waren kolonialrevisionistische Ideen weit verbreitet und fanden ihren Ausdruck auch in den Kolonial- und Tropentechnischen Messen (hier 1939).

Die Leipziger Messe als »Fenster zur Welt« spiegelte im Laufe ihrer Geschichte immer auch den politischen Zeitgeist wider. Entsprechend fanden in den Jahren 1937 und 1939 »Kolonial- und Tropentechnische Messen« auf dem Messegelände am Völkerschlachtdenkmal statt. Die Idee des Kolonialrevisionismus war weit verbreitet.

In dieser Leistungsschau der deutschen Industrie und Forschung wurden die neuesten Entwicklungen auf dem Gebiet tropentauglicher Technologien zur Schau gestellt – ungeachtet dessen, dass das Deutsche Reich zu dieser Zeit weder tropische noch andere Kolonien besaß. Kolonialpropaganda war auf der Messe omnipräsent: Neben impliziter Propaganda gab es auf der Messe unter anderen auch die Propagandastände des Reichskolonial­bundes und der Kolonialzeitung. Der Leiter des Kolonialpolitischen Amtes General Ritter von Epp schrieb 1937 im »Völkischen Beobachter«:

»Wenn Deutschland durch seine Leistungen auf kolonialwirtschaftlichem Gebiet seine koloniale Befähigung immer wieder erweist, so widerlegt es damit von selbst den sinnlosen Vorwurf kolonialer Unfähigkeit. Die Tropenschau der Leipziger Messe wächst dadurch über ihre eigentliche Aufgabe heraus und bekundet nicht nur im In- und Ausland die Leistungsgebiete deutscher kolonialwirtschaftlicher Technik, sondern auch den Wunsch, diese Technik auf eigenem Boden und zum Nutzen des eigenen Heimatlandes anwenden zu können.«(1)

Ebenso gab es auf den regelmäßig stattfindenden Herbstmessen, die zu jener Zeit über die ganze Stadt verteilt waren, Kolonial- und Tropentechnik zu sehen. Im Angebot war sowohl etwas für die Kolonisierenden (z.B. »Tropenbekleidung«, »Tropenautoapotheke«, »Jagd- und Sport-schusswaffen«, »Tropenfeste Tintenstifte«) als auch für die Kolonisierten (z.B. »Schorts für [N*]«, »Billige Decken für [Einheimische]«, »Lendenschurz«, »Plantagenmesser«).

Das Beispiel der Leipziger Messe verdeutlicht die gesellschaftliche Bedeutung des deutschen Kolonialismus. Auch über die Zeit hinaus, in der das Deutsche Kaiserreich Kolonien besaß, wurde aktiv koloniale Propaganda betrieben und die Normalität kolonialer Strukturen bestätigt.

  • (1) Völkischer Beobachter, 27.02.1937.

Messebesucher

Die Fortschritte im Bereich der Tropen-technik widerlegten für NS-Ideologen die »koloniale Unfähigkeit« Deutschlands.

 

Messebesucher

Kolonialpropaganda war auf den Messen omnipräsent – z.B. in Form der Deutschen Kolonialzeitung.

 

Messebesucher

Das Streben nach Wiedererlangen deutscher Kolonien fügte sich gut in die NS-Ideologie vom »Volk ohne Raum« ein und wurde auf der Messe propagiert.